Job Openings

FT Energetic Nanny in Birmingham Two Boys

Birmingham family needs a full-time nanny for their two boys who are 2 and 3.5 years old. They are expecting a third child in May. They have had their current nanny for over a year, but she is moving out of state in January. Current nanny can be used as a reference for this family. Start date is the first or second week in January. The schedule is M-F 8-4pm. Some flexibility on start/end times is preferred with advanced notice. $16+ taxed. Guaranteed 40 hours weekly, 8 holidays and paid vacation included in benefits package.

Must have at least 2 years prior nanny/daycare/childcare experience. Family is very calm, and needs a nanny who is mature, engaging and emotionally intelligent. Mom works from home (3rd floor), but is diligent about not micromanaging. She would, however, like to come downstairs occasionally to say hello to the boys briefly. 

Family would prefer a nanny to be college-educated (not necessary), have a clean drivers license, first aid/CPR certified, bilingual is a plus, want a long term position and be active with the boys. Nanny can use Mom’s van for pick/ups and drop offs, play dates and nearby activities. The family has a very gentle approach to parenting and hope to find a nanny who can mirror that style. Someone with potty training experience is a plus, as the 2 year old is not currently trained. This family is big into manners and wants a nanny who will speak intelligently to the boys, as they are pretty well-spoken.

Nanny is encouraged to bring her own food from home ideally. The boys are good eaters. Nanny is requested to make breakfast and lunch for the boys (nothing fancy!). Household duties expected of the nanny include: general tidying up. put bottles and dishes in dishwasher, occasional children's laundry, children's meals and putting toys away. They would like a nanny who can help the boys learn to clean up after themselves. Family has a housekeeper.

Screen time is extremely limited in this family, and they do not want a nanny to be on his/her phone the whole day. Both boys nap/have quiet time in the afternoon for about 2 hours. Fun, educational activities/outings are encouraged. This family hopes to find a long term caregiver who wants to see the boys learn and thrive. Mom will be on maternity May-August and will hopefully be able to co-parent with the nanny at that point. Family will bump up hourly rate once new baby is here.